• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

media Whats wrong, looks like mold or mildew on top of Jiffy seed starting mix

Seeds were planted April 30th, w/ no germination yet, but last week I noticed like a Mold or mildew starting to grow on top of the Jiffy seed starting mix, the temp has been at a constant 82- 90, I kept them covered for the 1st 2 weeks, but since this has started, I removed the top. I need suggestions whether I need to discard, need air circulation, or not to worry. I'm a newbie, 1st year starting from seeds, I did check 2 of the seeds, and they weren't empty, any help would be much appreciated.
THX

IMAG0107.jpg

I do not use covers for my starters for that very same reason. MOLD! You can remove the surface mold and they should be fine.

The first round of peppers I had were like that in one of their self-watering greehouses. Except mine were much worse. Woulda sworn that it was a mutant dirt-animal with long hair...LOL

I wiped most of it off with a paper towel, put the top back on it and threw it out on the porch, thinking it was all ruined. Went out a week later and...

First Sprouts by THP_PapaBill, on Flickr

Picture was taken a couple days later after taking the top off. It probably wasn't ideal to have the mold, but I don't think it did too much harm either :)

The first round of peppers I had were like that in one of their self-watering greehouses. Except mine were much worse. Woulda sworn that it was a mutant dirt-animal with long hair...LOL

I wiped most of it off with a paper towel, put the top back on it and threw it out on the porch, thinking it was all ruined. Went out a week later and...

First Sprouts by THP_PapaBill, on Flickr

Picture was taken a couple days later after taking the top off. It probably wasn't ideal to have the mold, but I don't think it did too much harm either :)

WOW, thx, I'll keep the hope alive then