• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

health What's wrong with my peppers? Yellow, curling leaves. White streaky pattern. Peppers drying on plant

Hello everyone.

I am a novice gardener (2 years experience) living in Southern California (Zone 10B). I have 2 Shoshito pepper plants and 1 Habanero pepper plant that I started from seed 2.5 years ago. They are in ~5 gallon containers and get full sun all day. I water them to runoff once every 2-3 days. I didn't prune them for most of their lives until about a month ago, when I cut them back to encourage bushiness. I'm not sure if I pruned them correctly.

They haven't been doing well for a few months. The leaves curl. Some have yellow and brown patches. Most also have small yellow spots. Some leaves have a zig-zag pattern of white streaks. 

About 3 weeks ago, I noticed that these plants were infested with aphids. I manually removed most of them and sprayed with a soap/vinegar mixture. I don't see aphids now. I wonder if they have done lasting damage.

On the habanero, some of the peppers have dried out on the plant. This has especially happened on one side of the plant (the sun-facing side), where they don't have any canopy cover. I wonder if the peppers are getting sunburned.

Despite this, the shoshitos and the habaneros have been yielding peppers. The shoshitos are tasty, but seem to start drying out on the plant at a small size. I wonder if the yield is smaller and less delicious than it otherwise could be.

What's wrong with my plants?

Many thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 191123_peppers_location.JPG
    191123_peppers_location.JPG
    180 KB · Views: 143
  • 191123_shoshitos1.JPG
    191123_shoshitos1.JPG
    117.4 KB · Views: 112
  • 191123_shoshitos2.JPG
    191123_shoshitos2.JPG
    129.6 KB · Views: 123
  • 191123_shoshitos3.JPG
    191123_shoshitos3.JPG
    124.4 KB · Views: 108
  • 191123_habanero1.JPG
    191123_habanero1.JPG