• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Where did I go wrong?

Greetings Sauce Gurus!
I think I may've fubared this batch with water as I've never used it before? My last batch was so thick it would barely pour out of the bottle so I thought I'd try adding water to thin it out but now all the bottles got this major separation as seen in the below pic. It still tastes good but I've tossed it as there was only about 10 bottles.
badsauce.jpg

Ingredients and cooking method:
25 Nagas
25 Scorpions
4 Squeezed Limes
4 Pineapple slices
2 Cups Organic Vinegar
2 Cups of Distilled water
3 tbl spoon of Kosher Salt
1 tbl sppon of black pepper
1 1 clove of garlic
3 shots of Grain alcohol

I simmered everything on the stove for 10 minutes to soften it up, then I blended it all until it was thinner then a crack whore runway model, then I cooked it up and boiled it for about 15 minutes then bottled. The next day I was horrified to the point that I swore to give up trying to make sauce and almost cut my wrists with a plastic spork:P

Where did I go wrong? Was it in fact the water?

I've never used water. To me it's a no-no. BUT since you did you need an emulsifier. Xanthan gum, etc. Comes in handy with any sauce that will separate, water or not.

Once it's cooked it's generally a done deal and too late. No need for xanthum gum, carrots do the job better with no separation. The key is to have enough liquid initially to simmer it down to just the runny side of where you want the thickness to be. Then simply pull it off the heat and bottle it up.

Salute', TB.

Water + alcohol = big no no, specially when you boil them together. Like THP, I won't use it at all. You're better off omitting the water, simmering the sauce down and adding a little more vinegar if it needs thinning.

Carrots can thicken a sauce and keep it from separating?