• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Worried about losing my boys this winter.

A little back story. I am Harold and I live in Fresno (Search you-tube, 'Tastes like Fresno' and skip to the 2:00 mark). I am not a gardener, I am a retired transit operator (bus driver, but the other title pays better) with a history of killing house plants. I currently live in an apartment off my daughters garage, behind which is an 8' by 60' dog run that I have for a garden.
My daughter came back from vacation with a seed kit from Avery Island, Tabasco peppers. Grow us something to eat, she said. It'll be fun, she said. I planted 8 seeds in 8 peat buttons and got 8 plants (this is Fresno). I gave 7 away and the 8th went into her house. For a year. She brought it back. It's not growing, she said. It's not giving me peppers, she said. That's not fun, she said. So I put it out on the patio in a pot as big as my ex-wife’s uh, biggest pot and loved on it a bit. Fed it, pruned it, and turned it so it got sun on all sides.