• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

YAUPT

Hi folks. Hopefully some of you can help.

I have a pepper plant that was tagged as a Fresno chili, but it's not.

aai.sized.jpg

aak.sized.jpg

The one in the pic is about 2-2 1/4" long and is typical of all the peppers on the plant.

I regularly eat jalapeno and serrano peppers and enjoy the heat, but these little fellows are HOT!! almost to the point of being unbearable.

Also, any insight to why my serrano peppers are turning cherry red? Great flavor, not overly hot, but bright cherry red.

(if you can't tell, I'm fairly new to growing my own peppers)

Thanks.

Hi folks. Hopefully some of you can help.

I have a pepper plant that was tagged as a Fresno chili, but it's not.

The one in the pic is about 2-2 1/4" long and is typical of all the peppers on the plant.

I regularly eat jalapeno and serrano peppers and enjoy the heat, but these little fellows are HOT!! almost to the point of being unbearable.

Also, any insight to why my serrano peppers are turning cherry red? Great flavor, not overly hot, but bright cherry red.

(if you can't tell, I'm fairly new to growing my own peppers)

Thanks.

Looks like a large, unripe Habanero to me. See what color they ripen to, and you'll get a better idea.
The Serranos I've seen will turn red when ripe. I think they're pretty good that way. :)

BoomerD-

Welcome to the forum!

Can you post a couple pictures of the plant? It may help someone identify the pepper.

SL

BoomerD-

Welcome to the forum!

Can you post a couple pictures of the plant? It may help someone identify the pepper.

SL

I'll post pics later of the plant, but for now, it's very similar in appearance to my serrano. Smaller leaves than a jalapeno, but with "crinkly" leaves.

I've been told that it looks like a green scotch bonnet. Same as habanero?