seeds Yellow Seedlings

Hey there, this is my first year growing and I just started having my first few seedlings sprout up.  When they did I felt a bit alarmed as they were yellow in color rather than the green I had expected.  Do you think they are experiencing water stress? I have been keeping them in the dark on a seedling mat in a cabinet.  What should I do?  Thanks

yellow1.jpg

I put them under light.  Should I keep the greenhouse cover on or off?  I still have 9 other pellets germinating that started two days ago

Jolokia John said:
I put them under light.  Should I keep the greenhouse cover on or off?  I still have 9 other pellets germinating that started two days ago
Pull the ones out that have broken the surface of the soil and put under lights. Leave the others covered until they show themselves.

it will turn green from  photosynthesis.   leave them uncovered to prevent damping off.  

I pull all my sprouts and into solo cups.  keep the ones that haven't sprouted yet the same and some time to sprout.  all mine sprout at different times, so that's how i do...  

oh yeah, rip off those jiffy nettings before you transplant.  

grow.jpg

This is my grow box set up for my seedlings.  The light is a 75 watt halogen grow bulb made by Phillips and will be about 6" about the plants and tested around 7000 LUX for that distance

Although I have to plead ignorance on whether or not 7000 lux is enough or not, I think your plants may not be getting enough light. The last two years I ran 4' fluorescents (4 t8s and 2 t12s) about an inch or two away from my plants with OK results. This year I upgraded to 8 t8s at the same distance and am seeing a marked improvement (maybe due to other factors, but it's definitely much brighter).