• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Sauce making process questions

Hi everyone,

Im a total beginner to making sauce so i need some help getting started. Im on a quest to make that perfect sauce for my taste buds :onfire:. can some lay down a list of materials i need to make a small batch? im sure ill need a blender but the process from the is completely unknown to me. Can someone fill me in one this?

I do not know if there is such a thing as the “perfect” hot sauce, everyone has different tastes and heat tolerances. What I make for myself vs. that to be given away often are entirely different. That said, yes you need a blender. Also, a reasonably fine wire mesh strainer, a couple of large mixing bowls and a large pot. There is some controversy on the straining aspect of sauce making. I fall into the camp of no seeds or other debris in my sauce. I like it clean and smooth. The following sauce recipe makes a very HOT sauce. Since I do not know what type of chiles you’re using, you may wish to tone it down some for a first attempt.

12 Roma Tomatoes – quartered
2 Large Carrots - chopped
1 Large Onion – chopped
15-20 Harbanero peppers (Caribbean Red)
5-6 Bhut Jolokia or other super hot
10 Cloves roasted garlic

Enough water to cover. Simmer for one hour. Process in Blender. Strain. Yields appx. 6 cups of raw sauce.

Add to raw sauce:
1T Oregano
½ t Cumin
1T Kosher Salt
2t Honey
1T Fresh grated Ginger
½ C White Distilled Vinegar (not cider vinegar)
½ C Red Wine Vinegar

Simmer one half hour stirring occasionally.

Yield: 6 one half pint jars.

Options:
Tequila
Lime juice
Xanthum Gum (a thickening agent)

I hot water bath process my sauce (cannning). Otherwise they have to remain refrigerated. Also, refrigerate after opening. I’m very diligent about cleanliness while doing this. I boil my canning jars for 20 minutes to make sure I kill any of the nasties.