• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Germinating Medium for Hot Peppers

Hello everyone I am new to the forum and to growing hot peppers. I intend to germinate 25-30 varieties and am attempting to determine the best medium to use. I want to use plugs or pellets or something that is easy to handle. I am a complete novice and am seeking input about the best way to do this. I thought about rapid rooter or bio dome plugs, maybe peat or coco coir pellets or Rick wool? I just performed an experiment with 40 + seeds in a few different mediums in a domed tray on a heat mat with Bhut Jolokias, Butch T's, and Infinitys it's been 2 weeks today and the results have been poor. I have 1 Butch T and 3 Indinitys up that's it. I gotta figure out out a better system before I start for real in Feb. I am open to any and all suggestions. Thanks in advance .

I have used peat pellets in a tubberware container and have had great results, but a new method I am trying is just peat moss in a party cup with another party cup underneath to reduce over watering and place a sandwhich bag over it with a rubberband. There are so many different methods that people use it just what is best for them. What is most important is temperature and water control. Good Luck and Merry Christmas

I have used Jiffy seed starting mix every year with with good results. I put some in a party cup (as stated above) or I use the biodegradable Jiffy pots, drop a seed or two in, put a little more starting mix on top and mist it til it's damp. I may try some of my bonsai mix this year as an experiment, but the way I mentioned above has always done well for me.

I want to use plugs or pellets or something that is easy to handle. I thought about rapid rooter or bio dome plugs, maybe peat or coco coir pellets or Rick wool?