seeds Germination Troubles

I will start by saying that I am new to growing from seed.  So, I planted 24 varieties of pepers with 3 seeds per variety, which gives me a total of 72 seeds.  I sowed them into jiffy pellets and put them in the pan with the clear plastic dome on top.  I've been using a heat mat.  The temperature in my house stays around 60-65, so I put a towel underneath the heat mat to keep the temp from escaping there, and one over top of the plastic dome to help insulate.  All of the siding is not covered by a towl though, so they are not completely insulated.

It's been 3 weeks now, and I've only had 11 out of 72 seeds germinate.  A few popped up around day 10, and a few around day 15.  I took apart a couple pellets, and the seeds do not appear to be rotten, just not germinating.  I do have suspicion that I planted them too deep.  I'm also not sure If I have over-hydrated them.  I've only re-watered the pan twice, where I put some warm water in, let it soak a min, then dump any excess.  But the pellets are pretty well soaked.  I also just bought a temp/humidity gauge, so hopefully that will give me some info.  I did not pre-soak the seeds before planting them.  Any suggestions?  What is ideal temp/humidity?  I'm about to do a new round of seeds in areas that are open.  This time I will soak for 24 hours.

If you don't have a thermostat on the heat mat, it could be overheating/cooking them. Also, the heat mat should only be used for germination - once they sprout you should remove them from the heat mat. The seeds should be kept roughly 76F - 80F, no higher than 90F and no lower than 70F. They will sprout slower below 76F, faster above that. Still, most of us have had seeds that didn't sprout for 3-4 weeks, depending on variety. Annuums usually sprout within a week, but others can be more stubborn.