• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

My first hot sauces and some issues

Before our first freeze I grabbed all my garden peppers and decided to try my luck at making some hot sauces with them.

Ive pickle jalapenos before and watched my dad make home made jellies, so I have some basic experience with safety procedures.

I boiled my peppers, garlic, onion in water for 5-10 minutes.  I boiled my jars, lids, funnel, tools for 10 minutes.  I sanitized my blender/food processor.  I drained the water and put the peppers and other ingredients in blender with some agave nectar and vinegar and pureed my blend.  I funneled it into the jar while still super hot.  I've waited about 3 weeks now and I opened one up.  When I did it exploded and then started fizzing a whole bunch.  Obviously the mixture fermented.  My guess is, and it was an after thought that I didn't cook the agave nectar, and this likely lead to yeast getting in.

Do you think this is safe to consume?  And what should I have done better? 

Why are you boiling ingredients in water? Your recipe sounds like you are making canned vegetables.

And hell no do not consume that! Not safe, unless it was in the fridge all that time. You need to read up on proper safety and how to make sauce. http://thehotpepper.com/topic/29501-making-hot-sauce-101/

The Hot Pepper said:
Why are you boiling ingredients in water? You recipe sounds like you are making canned vegetables.

And hell no do not consume that! Not safe, unless it was in the fridge all that time. You need to read up on proper safety and how to make sauce. http://thehotpepper.com/topic/29501-making-hot-sauce-101/

The link you provided even talks about doing what I did.

"Gather up your ingredients and supplies, and get creative!

Blender First or Blender Last?  Either will work. T