• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

water AC Watering?

Greetings,

I have a good old air conditioner in my bedroom that condenses the air and seperates the water. I usually just dump this but I wonder if anyone has used this in leu of say, rain water.

Anyways, your thoughts?

I would be a little careful of the water because it might have a small amount of aluminum from the coils and pepper might not like it. It would be fine if only occasionally used but a lot might affect the plant. That would be the only thing I would be concerned about using air conditioner water but then again I am not an expert grower like many in here.

i wouldn't drink it...(lead solder?), but it will be fine for plants.
its pretty much just distilled water that flows past algae covered evaporator coils...
distilled water has nothing in it tho, so your plants need nutrition from other sources obviously

If water were harder to come by I might do it, but the tiny risk of introducing unpleasant metals into my food chain isn't worth the tiny inconvenience of getting water from somewhere else.

It is distilled water, but as long as your ac coil was not cleaned with anything caustic recently it should be fine. If your coil is in decent shape it will be okay, the first couple weeks there may be trace amounts of aluminum dust [ from slight corrosion over the winter] but it cleans it self out. I'm a gardener and an HVAC tech so I've plumbed in holding drums for some of my customers, they think its the neatest thing.

It is perfectly safe distilled water. In fact, I water my front pepper patch, flower garden, watermelons plants, two apple trees, two pecans, and one Hickory with mine. I drip in into a bucket remotely from the house, and drain it by drip through a bulkhead fitting and hose.

If there was any corrosion in the coil, your coil would not last a year. (I am a Mechanical Engineer specializing in refrigeration)