• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

fertilizer Alaska fish fertilizer and flowering plants questions

I have been using the Alaska 5 1 1 with good results can I continue through the whole season even when it’s fruiting or should I move to a more calcium based food ?

thanks 

Laheat said:
I have been using the Alaska 5 1 1 with good results can I continue through the whole season even when it’s fruiting or should I move to a more calcium based food ?

thanks 
i am no expert on fertilizers but i can tell you that i used that along with the alaska fish pellets and didn`t use anything else for the last two years. i don`t fertilize very frequently. the liquid was added twice during the grow season and the pellets mixed into the top two inches of potting mix twice each year. my grow season is 4.5 to 5 months here in the northeast. the peppers put out plenty of pods. 

Some additional calcium wont hurt but i would just mix it with CNS17 Grow if you want to balance out the nutrient profile a bit better. CNS17 Grow has enough calcium and cost less than CalMag products. Its calcium nitrate based so its readily available to the plant.
CNS17 Grow- N 3.0%, P 1.0%, K 2.0%, Ca 3.0%, Mg 0.5%, Mn 0.005%

If you can get the Alaska brand pellets....you dont need anything else. It has even more calcium.

I gave them one more round last night, my sugar rush overwintered are doing really well with nice amount of peppers already.
Im looking into That cns17. I fed some smaller plants but some of them just dont want to get growing for some reason like my scotch bonnets. Thanks for the insight
For what its worth my scorpion plant is having some blossom drop so well see how that goes