• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

already thinking of 2017. Help me with cold frame setup.

Hi

This seasons plants are all transplanted, and just waiting for mother nature to do its thing.  So I'm already thinking of how to plant next year.

I'm wanting to plant in a cold frame, with heated soil. 

I'm going to give a bit of personal history first, to explain why I want to do that. You can skip the first few paragraphs if you just want my questions.

I have been planting from seed for a couple years. Last year I planted in mid January, and kept inside until a couple weeks before planting at end of may(in zone 6).  I have very little room inside, and not able to buy best of lights. So My plants were all leggy and extremely small. 1/2 my plants died before time to put out. Then I had trouble hardening off, and lost another 1/4.  Once I got the survivors in the ground I had no issues and they grew huge, and had more peppers than I could even use.  But still was stressful, constantly worrying about them.

This Year was MUCH better. I waited until mid February to start.  Then built a homemade cold frame from concrete blocks and old storm door. I put Seedlings(in solo cups) into cold frame at beginning of April.  I brought them back inside on a couple of coldest nights. But mostly just left them there.  Since they were getting some real light they didn't get leggy, and I didn't lose a single one!  So this years procedure works, and i will probably do most of my  plants this way next year. But would love to do a test with some plants just to see if I can make plants get through the winter outside.