• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Amending clay soil recommendations.

So Im in my third year of growing peppers and want to expand into other types of herbs and vegetables. I stuck mostly with containers until last year and was went through the growing pains of experimenting with what ever half decent store bought soils I could get and mixing it with soil from my property. It wasn't until last season where I planted some peppers and tomatoes in ground for my first poor attempt at soil amending (and trying out a soilless mix recommended in some of my potted plants) did I realize how the compact clay soil I have inhibits root growth and plant size. I live in Southwest Ohio and every plant I stuck in the hard clay went nowhere.

I'll probably borrow an uncle's rototiller to help out this spring. From some of the stuff I've read humus seems like the best route. I've also read tilling in pine fines works too. What has anyone else used that has worked? Anyone struggle with clay soil have tips? Any good guides or websites dealing with this?

Not really a tip so much, but we have quite a bit of clay in the soil in our area and I had doubts about being able to grow tomatoes etc.. I had the garden area dug out to a depth of 18 inches and then I raised the garden a bit to give me a depth of 24 inches. I filled it with a mix of soil and compost, and away I went.

As stefan stated above, double dig (deep digging and or raised bed), We have red clay here in georgia. We remove quite a bit of the clay and amend amend amend.
Perlite, vermiculite, compost, peat, and a good organic soil. After a few seasons, the beds well be a lot easier to maintain.