• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Annuum easier to cultivate than Chinense?

So back in LATE march I planted about 13 seeds and I'm a COMPLETE beginner but I'm totally hooked. Out of the 13 I ended up with six plants that have made it through to now. Five are Jamaican Yellow Mushroom and one is your run of the mill store bought Hab.

Now here's the part I'm baffled on. All five of my Jamaican Yellow plants are now just busting at the seams with pods. My hab plant, however, is flowering beautifully, but after only a few days of the flowers blooming, they turn pale and fall off. The plant gets no more or less water than the Jamaicans and no different fert treatment. Any ideas?

it has been my experience that annums are more forgiving than chineses. I thought it was my climate, but who knows. You should be in prime location to grow either.

Flowers aborting is commonly caused by too high temperature, especially at night. Different varieties have different temperature tolerance, so probably your plant having problems would like it to be a bit cooler. If you get a little cool spell I bet you will see some pods.

My Chinenses, which I overwinter, seem to start putting out pods either in the spring or fall. if they put out flowers during the hot summer months, they all seem to abort. My Fatalii is now throwing out pods, but its in the shade and our temps have been cooler due to the monsoon clouds, my other Chinenses thew out pods pretty good in the spring but they were overwinters growing indoors. Annuums always go from seed to pod during the growing season really easy for me.