• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Aquaponics?

I have, and still am in the consideration phase of jumping into hydroponics. I also have been deciding how best to part with a brand new 120 gal All-Glass aquarium. Things are getting a little more confusing now as I try to decide hydro, aqua or both. I am not even remotely qualified to decide at this point what would be best for me. All I really have going for me at this point is pepper plants and the 120.
Some insight and advice?

I haven't done anymore videos on it recently but I probably should

http://thehotpepper.com/topic/47975-video-update-on-my-aquaponics-setup/

I've been doing it for a few years now, all I can say is that it's tricky with flowering plants/perennials, my biggest issue is kind of a dumb one, I'm using carp which are very oily and dirty, they produce a lot of nitrates...this is great news if you have large areas for massive grow beds but when you have a small area to use it's not so good.  Leafy greens do amazing though.  Without the space for an extensive network of grow beds I would have to suggest to anyone to use a low-waste tropical or subtropical fish instead of a temperate one.  Just keep in mind that the most common one people gravitate towards--tilapia--is tropical and will die if they aren't kept warm during the winter.

If you have a 120gal tank you could probably have a nice AP setup with a school of tetras or some other small type of tropical fish.  You can get a ton of tetras in a tank that size.

Mate if you have that massive tank, you are comfortable looking after fish and you want to do hydro - there is no other option for you but to go aquaponics. Please start a glog if you do, will follow.