Bacon question

Having seen so many yummy treats here made with bacon, I would like to ask the connoisseurs of this fine meat product how to buy it.

All bacon is not created equal. The retail store brand is obviously low grade, the quality of the bacon I got from the supplier when I worked in a restaurant was much higher.

I can get locally raised and butchered bacon and I would prefer that....Its priced right up there with the lamb that I have not been able to afford....If I am buying a national brand- is there any recommended?

Or should I start treating bacon as a treat, so as to get the good stuff, and give it up as a staple?

meat is starting to be holiday food only, 'round here....

I personally consider all Bacon to be good. But with that said, I will treat myself to the local butcher made bacon every once in a while (when the $$ is available). When buying store bought bacon, I just look to see how fatty it may be. Sometimes you can even find the thick sliced bacon on the supermarket selves. But, whatever you do, don't give up on bacon just because the good stuff to too expensive.

This time of year I like to make my own bacon, and I prefer to cure without injecting a lot of liquid into the pork belly like most store bought bacon. Its amazing how quick and easy it is to make bacon and its just so tasty, and if you really want it lean then cure pork loins and make Canadian bacon

POTAWIE said:
This time of year I like to make my own bacon, and I prefer to cure without injecting a lot of liquid into the pork belly like most store bought bacon. Its amazing how quick and easy it is to make bacon and its just so tasty, and if you really want it lean then cure pork loins and make Canadian bacon

:think: I never thought about making my own bacon...Potawie you have gotten my interest sparked.