• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Before I start to grow these...?

Ok, so this is my first time growing peppers... Actually its my first time growing anything really, except for a marigold when I was like 8 years old. SO anyway, I just have a few questions before I start this crazy experiment.

I picked up a tray with those soil plugs along with a packet of Serrano seeds and Yellow Habanero seeds. I haven't started them yet, and yea, I know, the season is well under way by now. My biggest concern with starting them now is that I live in Rhode Island and the temperature is still in the high 40's at night to high 60's during the day. I read that the peppers (being native to warm climates) need a decent amount of heat to be able to germinate. I don't want to start them too early while its cold and just waste seeds. I also don't really have any way that I can light them indoors because I can't afford any lights right now (I'm a poor college student). So If I wait a few more weeks, will I be ok with having enough time to produce some pods? I mean, even if I start them in late April, that would give me about 4 or 5 months of good growing time, I think. Up until about September.

And another question that I have is about my growing medium after they germinate. I will let them grow in their little soil plugs until they are a decent size, but after that I plan on transferring them to buckets. Probably 5 gallon buckets. What kind of soil should I use? My girlfriend has a compost pile in her back yard, should I use that?

I'm really just a big noob at this, so forgive me for so many questions lol

basic rule of thumb...look at your last frost date, then back up 6-8 weeks before that for starting seeds...6 weeks for tomatos and annuums and 8 weeks for chinense

Rhode Island last frost date...

Block Island Last Frost -------------> 4/20