• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Can growing be simple?

I'm a noob at growing (except jalapenos a few years back) - was wondering if anything good can be said for growing in just good quality soil, water and plenty of sun. All this talk of hydroponics, lighting, heat mats, etc. can be a little intimidating! Or is that stuff just for overwintering?

I guess, growing things is quite easy, just that there are more complicated methods which can produce better results, but not always. In reality, all that you need to grow anything is a pot, good soil, water, fertillizer and a light source. All of the hydroponics crap, grow lights, and whatnot are for those who wish to optimize and maximize the performance of their crops. With soil, its pretty hard to completely mess everything up, where with hydroponics, there is a greater chance for mistakes to be made.

To answer the question, you'll do fine with just nothing but the basics. There's a lot of growers out there who successfully grow their plants in a bucket by the windowsill!

I suppose that makes about 110% sense. I should do fine as long as I don't need any eastern Egyptian worm turds or anything like that...Thanks!!

Reactions: Emu
to me it just feels right to grow plants in the earth, giving them plenty of water, sun, and fertilizer (don't forget this especially if you're in intensively used soil). that said, natural dirt is just one of many media for delivering all the requirements for plant growth, and one can get the same results with other soil-less methods. better results? not sure about that--I'll bet this has been debated here though I haven't paid much attention to topics/forums about hydroponics.