dehydrators Can Smoked Pepper Damage A Dehydrator?

Hi all, I'm hoping someone who's done this will know the answer. I want to smoke some habanero chilies and then dry them out in my dehydrator. Will the smoke odor from the chilies taint the dehydrator in any way? Say if I dry a batch of fruit after the chilies, will the fruit get the "smokey" smell or taste? Or do you all use one dehydrator for chilies only?

I know from other people to do this in the garage and not in the house. :lol:

I have a Nesco FD-75PR (Snackmaster Pro 700 Watt Food Dehydrator) where the fan and element are on top and the trays are all on the bottom.

Thanks!

i smoked quite a few batches of chiles this year and then dehydrated - never noticed the infusion of the smokey flavor into the next batch of chiles. i also nesco with the fan on top and plastic trays on bottom. the trays don't seem to smell like smoke afterwards. i only use the dehyrdater for chiles or beef jerkey so while i dont think that the smoke flavor would carry over to fruit, i couldn't say for sure.

Thanks. :)

I guess if it does get tainted I can use that as an excuse to get a second one. Our first one hasn't stopped running since Christmas! I can't dry fruit fast enough before the kids eat it all up. :lol:

I agree with Buddy on this one, same dehydrator and method. It still hasn't gotten the smoke smell. It s all good my friend.

To be safe make your first batch of fruit after the smokey stuff a fruit that would go good with it if needed. I suggest pineapple, the plus side there is the strength of its scent will help clear it some if it does transfer.

i smoked quite a few batches of chiles this year and then dehydrated - never noticed the infusion of the smokey flavor into the next batch of chiles. i also nesco with the fan on top and plastic trays on bottom. the trays don't seem to smell like smoke afterwards.

Same here & I have the same kind of dehydrator.