• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

CFL Temperatures

I have been trying to research which bulbs to purchase to get the best indoor growth from my indoor plants this winter. Unfortunately, all of the lighting information I can find online is for a sticky green plant. I have found that in this case it is best to mix a combination of 6500k and 2700k for growth and flowering. Is it the same for pepper plants? I am assuming so, but the high output bulbs that I am looking at are expensive, so I do not want to buy them and find out I wou.d have been better with two 6500k bulbs instead of one 6500 and one 2700. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Nick

I'm no expert on it, but I recall reading in one of the threads that unlike MJ plants pepper plants do not require specific light for different stages. Instead a "full spectrum" is the best/cheapest way to go. Someone please correct me if i'm wrong, but I believe that was basically the conclusion.

Are these going to be indoor the whole time or just until spring? If you are taking them out in the sun later, I would stick with the cool 6500K.

They are still outdoor right now, but I am preparing to take them indoors over the winter. I was hoping to get peppers off of them over the winter though instead of just overwintering.

Even here not much happens from December - May, but it's nice to leave the jacket in the closet.

You should be fine with either temp, but you will need a lot of juice. Warm, cool and daylight spectrum have a lot of overlap and I like the higher Kelvin for seedlings because it is supposed to keep the plants compact. The warmer may be better for fruiting, but I've never seen data for peppers.

2700K is a lot easier on the eyes and more like incandescent, so that's what I'd use if these were out in the open. They're also the easiest to find and tend to be cheaper.