co-packer Co-Packing and Fulfillment at a High Level

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting into researching on how this all works and I saw that others have already headed into the direction of using a co-packer, but I was hoping I could get some help wrapping my head around the bigger picture of how it all works. Does this diagram make sense or are there any major pieces/callouts that are missing?

1706742260545.png

Start small...

Make sure your product is as good as you think it is. I know of a couple businesses who sunk $$$,$$$ into their product, one was beef jerky...got strung out on getting paid by Walmart, and other cutthroat business things....lost it all....

and from personal experience with Amazon...

I was fulfilling orders myself for Pure Evil, not my bottles hot sauces...and I had one weekend, over a long 4th of July, where i didnt get orders posted in time. Amz shut down my account and after 5 months of fighting with AmzBot that is NOT customer service for sellers, I quit. I never spoke to a live person about the "issue", even after 5 years of being a great seller.

Yea...a little bitterness there from me.

But it turned out for the better for me. Pure Evil is now available only thru HEAT Hot Sauce Shop and they take care of all the shipping and stuff.

Thats just my experience with Amz. I sold the bottled sauces online with a website for a while. Barely made enough sales to pay for the site hosting. The best i can say is get out local, build a local customer base. All my sauces sell well from a few local markets. PS...i live in a really rural area. Nearest 'city' is 45 or 90 miles away....depending on your definition of 'city'.

Going the copacker/Amz route...,you will be hard pressed to get the sales needed to support the expense of copacker, storage, distribution before your product goes Out Of Date. If you dont have a strong customer base, it is hard for people to drop $7 for 5 oz they may not like.