• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

container container size question

This year I have decided to start some peppers for next year this month, they are just coming up now an I am growing to put them in 1 gallon containers indoors from October till February ‘or when they get root bound’ as I want them even larger when I plant them in the yard next year, so my question is, how long will the 1 gallon hold them before they must transplant?

One more question. If I put a pepper plant growing now in a pot and put it next to the new ones what is the potential for any kind of pests contaminating the new ones?

I dont know that I would grow them in the 1 gallon pots for 4 months. Not 100% on this, but I THINK I heard somewhere that if a plant becomes TOO root bound, it may never grow properly after that. Im no expert, so if someone knows the truth, I would like to know myself.

The answer depends in part upon the type of plant you are growing - clearly a small plant will last longer in a smaller pot. So what are you growing, and how big is it supposed to get at maturity?

G

If you keep them in too small of a container for to long they will become stunted.

There is a chance the plant you bring inside can have aphids, whiteflies ect...

All my plants are in 1 gallon containers, some have completed their 3rd year and I am satisfied with my yields.

Have you ever gone to a nursery and purchased a pepper in a 4" container and the plant is almost a foot in height? (I am guessing the 4" is about 1/4 of a gallon).

So that kind of questions container size and growth. I put my hot lemons that I purchased in 4" pots(they were the ones that were a foot in height) into 1 gallon containers and they showed only marginal increase in height but fruited fine. I have fresno in 4" containers and they are still producing.