• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Cucumber Buds

This is my first time growing cucumbers. My plants are about 6" tall and they appear to be growing something other than leaves(I'm assuming they are budding). Should I be pinching off these "buds" to let the plant get bigger?

I'll try to get some pics here in a bit.

Here is the best pic I could get! And by the way, there is not just like one or two of these popping up. There is at least 10-15 (as you can see in the pic)! I also have some smaller cucumber plants like only 4" tall with maybe 6 sets of leaves that are starting to create the same thing!

CucumberBuds.jpg

I don't see a reason to pinch them - they are not going to hurt a thing. At the worst, when you transplant them, they will fall off (most do anyway). Not sure what part of the Hoosier State you are from, but you shouldn't have more than a couple of weeks until you can stick them outside in the dirt.

Mike

I have left mine ? I have about 3-4 cucumbers about an inch long on about 6 plants flowering profusely I was going to let them go and see what happens when I plant out next week

I say leave them. Without pollinating insects, they will abort and fall off. If by some sick twist of fate they do pollinate, then I'd pinch them, as cukes need to be visited many times by pollinating insects to produce nice fruit. If not visited enough times, they will make curly or curvy cukes.

Anyhow, I guess it doesn't matter really.

Ok! I did pinch a couple of the big ones. My next question was going to be asking if I should try to pinch all the small ones too, but I think you have all answered that :). I will leave the rest go and see what happens.

I am planning to plant them outside mid May as that is our last "frost" date in central Indiana. I also have to get the garden area ready :doh: