• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Cygnus' First Grow

It's my first time growing peppers and I chose an unfortunate time of year to germinate seeds, but I figure I'll try to keep them alive over winter for next spring, or if things go poorly I'll start some new plants in the spring with a little experience under my belt.

I sowed the seeds on 9/3 and 9/4 and have had intermittent germination through today. So far 15 out of 18 seeds have germinated. I planted the seeds in a 2:2:1 mix of happy frog soil:coco coir:perlite. The soil wasn't sterile and I saw a little bit of mold formation in some of the cups when they were under ziploc humidity domes, but I just scooped it out and haven't seen any issues arise from it (unless the seeds that haven't germinated succumbed to the mold).

I've had some quite disparate germination times from identical varieties which is kinda interesting. Two of the jalapeño seeds germinated in six days, and the third took twelve. Two Brazilian starfish seeds germinated eight days apart. One fatalii white seed germinated in a week and the other two still haven't, so it will be interesting to see if they'll pop up further down the line. Is it common for seeds from the same packet to take significantly different amounts of time to germinate?

I built a trough to hold my germination cups, heat tape, and light fixture. I 3d printed a few parts that allow the light to be vertically adjusted down as the seedlings can take more intensity and adjusted up as they grow taller. The jalapeños were starting to stretch a bit so I've been moving the light down a bit over the past few days. 

Seedling Trough.jpg

Light Adjustment.jpg

I'm growing (clockwise from top left) fatalii white, leviathan gnarly, chocolate habanero, TAM jalapeño, Brazilian starfish, and aji limon, as well as a Lowe's red ghost.

Seedlings.jpg
 ​

Ghost 2020.jpg

Any advice/tips are appreciated.

Cygnus said: