• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

devil's tongue chocolate?

ok so I planted some devils tongue(red) seeds and ended up w/ 1(outta 3) not great but i was happy one came up, it has been growing normally all year, now the pods are starting to ripen and they have turned chocolate brown :crazy: now I know this is my first year growing and had never heard of devils tongue until I got the seeds for it, also i know they were open pollenated, and I know that some thais turn brownish before red, but this is different these are straight up chocolate, like a choc bhut, a little lighter than my choc habs but chocolate just the same so far I have only one ripe but the other 2 that are starting to ripen are also turning chocolate, is this normal? somehow i dont think so, but anyone who has grown can feel free to chime in! :eek:

I am actually doing a review of a devils tongue chocolate tonight that was sent to me to try. They do exist, yours could be a cross or a mutant. Talk to your seed source, if you can, for their opinion.

I've heard many stories and have known a few people to grow the Devils Tounge Red and have had yellow pods or chocolate pods once ripened.. I've had the chocolate and in my opinion the flavor is alot better than the red. I don't have a scientific answer for ya, I just know it's common. I believe Jimduffy even has a disclaimer on his DevilsTounge Red seeds, warning of yellow or chocolate pods, and he grows his in isolation..tell me how much sense that makes?
Brandon