• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Do I separat seeds that have sprouted already???

I'm very new to growing anything from seed so picked up a jiffy greenhouse with heating pad. About 3/4 of the seeds have sprouted since planting last week and are close to hitting the top of the dome. Do I separate those, leave them in the GH with dome on and wait for the rest to sprout or take the dome off and wait for the rest to sprout? I have a lot of different varieties of peepers and read that some take a week and others take up to 4 weeks, but can't find any info on if I need to separate the ones that are already hatched or what.

Thanks. Do I need to keep them in a make shift green house like a box covered with plastic and a heat mat or just leave them out in the open under the light? Although it's only been a week several had grown so fast they are no pushing up against the dome top and are slightly bent over.

As soon as I see a stem I take them out and under the lights they go. After about two weeks when the get their first true set of leaves I transplant into 4 inch pots. If you leave them in the dome they could get damping off or become leggy due to lack of light.

Ya, I just did that with a cotyledon seedling about 1" tall...the other ones are still semi-hooks and it needed room. Normally, I don't transplant until first true leaves..but needed to in this case since one was so strong compared to the others.

So, I did up a 3" quare container w/ my pro-mix/perlite and a mild dose of 5-3-4 Terracycle granular fert. Seedling really seem to like the worm poop. :D

Pre-watered the soil..don't want to drown the baby, eh?