• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Early season superhot?

I'm new to growing and recently found out about "early season" and "late season" chili peppers. I seem to have grown "late season" peppers this year (Bhutlah, Jolokia, Scorpions). They are still green and the first frost is right around the corner. The outside growing season is quite short where I live so I'm thinking of growing some "early season" chili peppers next year. Inside growing is not an option for me, and I don't have space for a greenhouse. Does anyone know of an "early season" superhot? If not a superhot, then the closest thing to one heat-wise, please.

I was looking back through my pepper pics, and the first supers I had turn ripe this year were Primos, Devil's Hearts and BBG7, at a little less than 3 months after plant out. 7-Pot Rennie Chocolates weren't too far behind them. I started seeds early indoors, end of Decemeber - Early January. For hab level, my Paper Lanterns started putting out ripe pods early too.

Also, the plants that produced ripe pods early were in 3-gal containers. The same types of plants in ground took longer for me. I think in smaller containers, they get root bound quicker and switch to producing fruit, whereas the ground plants will continue to just grow for a longer period before fruiting.

Thanks for the replies. It never occurred to me that plants in the ground might take longer. I'd rather have a lower yield of ripe peppers than a bountiful yield of unripe peppers!