• Please post pictures and as much information as possible.

Foodarama?

I have 10 plants from a seed packet labeled "Foodarama Scotch Bonnet." Of the plants that are producing, at least 2 are bearing pods like the ones pictured here, and the others are setting traditional Bonnet-shaped pods. Is there pod shape variation of this magnitude within the Foodarama variety, or were some other chinense variety's seeds mixed in with my Foodarama seeds?

Foodarama1.jpg

then they are definitely Foodarama's...pod variation is normal....I have been growing these for several years now...

lord have mercy...don't blame it on me.... :rofl:

all joking aside, those grow very good for me here and the plants will have pods shaped like the ones in your hand along with bonnet shaped pods too...

Heh...or, if they're awesome, you get the credit.... :P

Cool, thanks for the heads-up. Soon, I should have good side-by-side, in-ground production from True Jamaican Scotch Bonnet, Foodarama Scotch Bonnet, and Bahamian Goat Pepper, 30 plants in all. It will be interesting to compare not only their relative heat, flavor, aroma, pod size, etc., but also plant vitality, robustness, productivity, and especially how they handle another Infernal Summer...

Gary

Thanks TK! I just ate one of these pods at lunch today. Aside from the atypical shape and thinner flesh, the taste is very much like the True Jamaican. What sets this chile apart is that it is SPICY! I'm thinking orders of magnitude hotter than the TJSB pods I am producing right alongside these.

I feel confident in highly recommending this chile any fan of the True Jamaican Scotch Bonnet. :P

Gary

all peppers that are called scotch bonnet do not have the typical tam shape....the Big Sun Scotch Bonnet is a good example and does not have the tam shape however, they are chinense true scotch bonnets...

one of the things about the Jamaican Red and Yellow hots is that they are annuums and not chinense...