• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds GERMINATION TEMPS

newbie here wondering if you experienced growers can tell me if its possible to 'cook' your seeds by letting the temp in grow box get too hot? had a stable temp of 85 for 2 weeks then had thermometer and fan failure...think my box got above 100! my sprouts, of course, wilted and died, but ive since had 12 new sprouts after stabilizing temperature. yellow bhuts are up, but i have brain strains and butch t's that i really want, and still nothing. its been 3.5 weeks since germination began, and only yellow bhuts, fatali, and pakistans are coming up. could i have killed the other seeds due to extreme heat, or do these 'super hots' just take that much longer to germinate? thanks for any and all help!!

I'm not really that experienced growing indoors and stuff, but I do know based on experience and from reading similar posts on here, that yes you definitely can cook the seeds.. with that said, I still had a few of my bhuts and 7 pots pop up..hmm, I think, about a month later I think.. but I would say, if you have the seeds, replant them at this point, and if you have the room to do so, keep the other seeds that you have planted in there and see if they pop up...

if they don't by the time your other seeds come up if you decide to replant them, then chuck them out, because obviously they are long dead lol.. but I just personally like to give them a chance if I am still using the growing/germinating area.

You most definetly can cook seeds. Temperature is debatable but 84-85f is generally considered pretty much spot on. Dont give up on your seeds too early though, especially if they are rare or you only have a few. I have had seeds pop up 6 months from when I first tried sprouting them.