• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification.

seeds Germination Troubles

Hello All,

This is my first attempt at trying to grow anything (ever), so why not hot peppers? I know it is a tad late to start, but I have a little over a month until last frost (zone 5A, just north of Omaha, NE). To start, I ordered some seeds from PepperLover -- Chocolate Hab and Fatali (got some Douglah and Red/Yellow Bhut Jolokia as freebies) -- and some regular Habs from a nursery.

My initial attempt at germinating has me worried. To the success of many others here, I am trying the paper towel and little plastic party/jello shot cups with lids. This started on Sunday. I've got 6 cups with ~8 seeds in each on a heat mat and I have noticed that they dry out extremely easily. For example, I left the lids off for ~2 hours yesterday after re-moistening and noticed many of the paper towels were bone-dry. Lids on, same issue, just condensation collects on the top. This is troublesome because I can't check on them while at work or sleeping... So my seeds have to practically be swimming so they can get through the work day/night otherwise the paper towel will dry.

Last night I readied up my 36 slot propagator (with lid and lower tray for bottom watering) with some Jiffy Seed Starting Mix. I'm thinking about throwing my above seeds and many remainders (2~3 per chamber) in this in hopes that the starting mix will retain moisture better. I kind of like this idea as the seedlings will be going here anyways. Saves me the work of transferring later with the risk of damaging them once they pop.