• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

GROW BAGS??

I was curious if anyone has any experience with the Viagrow plastic grow bags or anything that is close to them? They look like a little trashbag with holes for drainage, they're reversible to white. Seems like a much cheaper alternative to buying 5 gallon nursery pots. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have the 1 gallon ones, posted a link the other day here about plastic grow bags. Some said the higher you get in size the more likely to rip, the 1 gallon ones work well for me.

Yeah thats what i was affraid of. I found a few sites that have brand new nursery pots for a fairly good price. I'm thinking of buying a few of the bags to experiment but for now sticking to what I know works.

The cloth grow bags work wonders and you can usually find them for a good price on ebay, since this is my first year I don't forsee my self needing more than 3-5 gallon size of anything and that will be for what I over-winter

Thanks, I'll have to check out the fabric bags. I've read about people using them on here and they seem to work very well, but haven't heard anything about the plastic ones.

My Home Depot paint department has orange 5 gal. buckets @ $2.60 .
With a half dozen 1" holes in the sides at the bottom, these buckets will be placed on scrap 12" x 12" lumber plates on my deck and the edges of my driveway. I hope to over winter some of the select plants.

Im trying a little experiment on my Serrano's and Jalapeno's.

I put holes 1/2 way up the cans or bottles and just fill them up now and then. Right away I see a difference in how many bugs I have.
The homer bucket could probably use 2 bottles but it just an experiment.

533969_3591645557491_1463940881_3195976_1092224812_n.jpg

and
578227_3591646757521_1463940881_3195982_602575802_n.jpg