• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Growing for Flavour

I'm growing a few varieties this year but the ones I'm most looking forward to are the bonnets/bonnet crosses. There are loads of posts about growing for heat (stressing plants etc) but are there any tips for enhancing the flavour of my pods?

I don't know for sure but I suspect it will come down to plant genetics rather then anything you can actually do. Of course the usual recommendations are to grow all organically with lots of high quality worm castings, composts, and teas/ACT ...some are sure this maximizes flavor profiles. I'm new to peppers so can't say but I've always grown organically ... I do it anyway just because its a great way to grow. I have heard people say guanos are great for maximizing flavor.

I'm sure others more knowledgeable will chime in soon. Good luck!

Cheers Ozzz. I just got some worm castings and bat gauno actually so we'll see how that goes. They're so expensive though for what they are :shocked:

Cheers Ozzz. I just got some worm castings and bat gauno actually so we'll see how that goes. They're so expensive though for what they are :shocked:

The guanos definitely are...get yourself a worm bin though ...homemade castings are leaps and bounds better the old dry castings purchased at a store...plus- you make them for free from your trash :)

The guanos definitely are...get yourself a worm bin though ...homemade castings are leaps and bounds better the old dry castings purchased at a store...plus- you make them for free from your trash :)

I did look into that last year but I never got one going. It's something I'm going to do though for sure. I compost a bit at the moment but a worm bin would be brilliant.