• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Growing Passion fruit ?

Got some Passion fruit seedlings, would like to find out more about growing them from someone with info on it.
P1100719.jpg

P1100628.jpg

This is my 2 meter vine

Hi I've been growing one for four years now in a five gallon bucket, the variety that I have is a purple variety, so far though it has not bloomed or produce any fruit. The vine is pretty rampant, and needs suport. In your area it should grow like crazy and you should get some fruit in about three or so years. I have to bring mine in for the winter here which sets it back and might be the reason why it hasn't bloomed or fruited for me. It does need some shade especially in really hot areas, don't give it to much fertilizer or it will just produce lots of growth and no flowers.
Well thats all I know about mine, I hope its of some help, there are several varieties which produce edible fruit, some are better than others. Good luck growing it.
George W.

Hmmm, Read abit about them saying should fruit first year here and died after about 5. Have yet to find them weeds but the dirt they are in has 08/24/24 so will start to add 46/0/0 to get some faster groth. I've planted some Banana Passion fruit seeds but may have to wait one month for seedlings as thats what the Purple Passion fruit took. Also got Blue Passion flower, can eat the fruit on it as well. Will plant tomorrow.

I think I've seen Passion flower, in flower at 6 months or so here. Was told was not the eating kind ? Have read there is lots you can eat, some just are not fun to eat... Had many Mushrooms like that, won't kill ya but not something you'll try and eat less you need to live.