• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Habanero pod

Hey guys since im a newbie at pepper growing this might be dumb question but
does all habanero's start as an elongated pod? i didnt have time to take a photo this morning but i will do so.
it has the rough shape of an hab it just seems longer and pointy.......
I planted the seeds from an Habanero i bought at the supermarket cause it was such a nice big pod now i wonder if it might be hybrid.

WIthout a picture it is hard to say.  I have a mustard habanero plant that seems to put out elongated pods that are definitely habanero in shape, but not sure if I would say without a picture if that is what you have.  Also, if this is the first pod to pop I have found that they often don't hold the classic shape for the plant, so might be better to wait until a few more come on.  Post a pic and we will see what the consensus is.

Thank you yes its the first pod the smaller pods are still to small to say.....this was an orange habanero with an peach tint
(i will get a pic up asap)

Van said:
I added the image tag for you above.

Do you have a photo of the canopy of the plant from above to give a better view of the leaves?

Van said:
Hey guys since im a newbie at pepper growing this might be dumb question but
does all habanero's start as an elongated pod? i didnt have time to take a photo this morning but i will do so.
it has the rough shape of an hab it just seems longer and pointy.......
I planted the seeds from an Habanero i bought at the supermarket cause it was such a nice big pod now i wonder if it might be hybrid.
I take it that the original market Habanero that you took the seeds from was not pointy? The fruit can fatten out as they develop.

I ended came across a pointy Habanero after I bought a plant in late 2009. It was described as a Habanero Yellow but the fruit ended up being pointy and orange.