• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Hardening Off...Details?

I'm planning ahead to begin hardening off my plants in early May. It's my understanding that the plants should be left in the shade for a few days at first. Is this correct? After that, do I leave them in the sun for 1 hour per day, increasing by 1 hour every few days? I'm in need of details. Thanks.

I am no pro at this process but I start the process with morning sun. Day 1 is one hour and each day I increase until I get to 7 hours. I then start to provide the late afternoon sun while still protecting them from the harshest midday sun. After about 10 - 14 days I put the babies in the ground.

I'm no expert either, but we're so close to the sun that I keep the plants out of the sun and in the shade for about a week, increasing the time outside by an hour or two a day. Right now mine are up to 6 hours in the shade, but no nighttime for about a week more. Still way too cold.

Next week I'll time the sun and the exposure so the plants get an hour of morning sun and then increase one hour every day. They should be hardened off in about 2 weeks, though they won't go in the ground until the nighttime temps are 50 or above. Then I hope to cover them with sunscreen as we get hail in June and last year many lost lots of leaves.

Good luck with your endeavors. Whoever said gardening was easy, never gardened.

It all really depends on where you live, what kind of weather you're putting them out in and what strain of plant you're growing (if you want to get real technical)

Whatever the plants can handle. Test it out the first day. Go for one hour and see how they take it. If they look good, leave them out longer, if they're wilting, bring them back in and let them come back...then start the process over again.

I do the same as 3/5King, I just take em out and if they like it they stay if not they go back inside.