• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Hardening Off Question

I feel like the parent of a 20 year old living in the basement... "I love you man, but you gotta go." I have 300 plants that I started too early and they've gotta get out of the house. I'm a teacher & this week has been Spring Break. A decent portion of my Spring Break has been spent moving 20 trays of plants from a room above the detached garage to the driveway for a few hours, making sure they had enough water & support from the wind & then taking them back in. 

Up until this week, they hadn't been out longer than an hour at a time. Throughout the week, I've extended their time outside to 2 hours, 4 hours, 6 hours & yesterday, they were out for 8 hours. Highs this week have been around 76-88. I'd like to plant out some today (probably no more than 30 of 300) & then others as time permits this week, with all out next Sunday. Tomatoes too.

First question: Is this enough hardening off?

Second question: I was planning on pulling them outside now (1 PM) and letting them stay out until 1-2 AM (I don't sleep much) tonight... or maybe even overnight. Low tonight is 55. Grow room is hot lately- 85-92, but because there's no heat in the room, it's been as low as 66-68 a couple of weeks ago. Kept them out until about 9 PM last night & it was around 68-70. Just moved to this house & this has only been their home for 3 weeks. I'll have to figure out a heat source next winter.

Anyway, let me know what you think. 
Thanks!

I tend not to coddle. Few hours the first week then its all day as long as the temp is 60 and above. Yea I might lose a few week ones or have to pull a couple back indoors but for the most part it's sink or swim.