• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Has any tried putting charcoal into their potting mix?

I have charcoal for plant pots but I am new to growing peppers. Does it have any significant effects? supposedly it helps drainage and is better for the roots.

Drainage is about all it is good for. Charcoal is an adsorbent which is the opposite of absorbent. It basically repels water and the like.

whenever i bbq i use smoker chips and as they blacken i mash the burnt chips up with a hammer and add a layer when potting up. i have no idea if it helps or not! i would say not likely for immediate results. since i reuse my potting soil year after year, i like to believe it helps in the long term. if i look on my deck, i see a container with blackened wood chips that i should really crush but at -33C it will just have to wait.........for a very long time.

i still think a good quality fertilizer, the right amount of light, the right amount of humidity, the right amount of soil moisture and the right amount of air movement is probably all that is really required for peppers.

i also grind up egg shells and save coffee grounds as soil amendments but do they help immediately - not likely. long term i am sure they do.

adnewr said:
I have charcoal for plant pots but I am new to growing peppers. Does it have any significant effects? supposedly it helps drainage and is better for the roots.
I have only put it in my soil after cooking with it. It is basically ash at this point. I think putting charcoal it in soil would also soak up the nutrients, similar to activated carbon.

Activated carbon can and is used to clean pollutants from streams and ground water which holds the pollutants in it's pores. Wouldn't activated carbon just hold the nutrients and not release them to your plants?

McGuiver said: