• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

fertilizer How often should I fertilize

I use fish fertilizer and I think it says to fertilize every three weeks. I am waiting for Chile Focus and it says you can fertilizer every day w/a diluted solution or weekly. Personally, I think it is hard to determine when to fertilize. All of my plants are different. Some have a slight yellowing of leaves, so look healthy. It's my first year growing peppers and I am trying to get a handle on getting all plants healthy. There will be more knowledgable growers who will be able to give more insight.

Depends upon what you're using for fertilizer and what strength you're applying it at. Most fertilizers you buy will have a suggested use, either when you water or once a month or so. I like to do the every time I water routine but I only use it at half the suggested amount.

It also depends on the nutrients in your garden and source water. Do you add anything organic like compost or are you just using a chemical nutrient?

I just use MG Bloom Booster once a week, then alternate with Epsom salt every other week. Seems to be working fine SO far...

Before I planted, I weeded, then dug up several inches of soil and replaced it with potting soil. No compost, just a chemical nutrient. The garden soil is sandy, but good. The source water is well water. It is high in iron, but otherwise normal.

I like adding nutrients with every watering. Much more control than spreading a granular fertilizer. If they get a little too much, you can just flush them out with plain old water. My plants get Botanicare ProGrow and Liquid Karma at every watering. They seem to love it so far. Will switch to Liquid Karma and ProBloom in about a month.