water How often to water in raised beds/pots

Hey guys,

Since I am a newb this year, I did make the mistake with my first couple of plants to overwater and kill them (2 plants).  Since then I have backed way off the watering. 

I did buy 2 different soil moisture gauges (just to see which I like better).

So I have been testing my soil religiously everyday.  I allow the peppers to get to "dry" before watering.  However over the past couple of days it seems that its almost everyday or every 2 days.  This is reading down to about 4-5" down.

The only difference being that my peppers are starting to fruit/bloom.  

The peppers are in well drained raised beds and 5 gallon pots with a mix of Kellog Garden Soil and Kellog Potting mix (about 50/50 ratio)

Does this sound about right?  I just dont want to overwater again.

What say ye for the noob?

Overwatering gets a little harder to do once they are in the ground. During the heat of summer here in east TN I water at least one a day sometimes morning and evening. Let the plants tell you when to water, not you telling the plants when they need it.

^^^^^^^ What he said! Good advice right there. As for the pots you can lift em up and see how much they weigh dried out compared to watered. ThaTS a good indicator right there.

I agree... with pots the best way to tell is by weight.  When they are in the ground/raised beds its a little more tricky.  A little drink a day keeps the doctor away.

Like Mill said, it is a little harder to do once they are outside.That sun is way more powerful then lights.  You also loose a bunch of control as well when mother nature decides to dump buckets of water on you. I think I've only watered once since the plants have been out. It seems to be raining almost every other day so far this spring.