• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

I have problems!

Hello, I have problems:)

I'm a newbie to this pepper forum and I just joined after reading for about 3 mths and look, I'm already asking for help!:oops:

Hopefully someone know the answer to at least one of my problems.

Scroll Down for new Pics!

Problem #1: My peppers have purple stems. Is this even a problem?

Problem #2: Some of My peppers have true leaves that are very small (smaller than the cotyledons) and that curl upwards forming a "U" shape. They don't even resemble pepper leaves.

Problem #3: My peppers' leaves don't have that healthy dark green color. My Aji Dulce's cotyledons are yellowing at the tips and the yellow is working its way down (the first true leaves didn't even appear yet).

Problem #4: Some of my peppers look like their cotyledons & leaves are bruised (e.x. purple areas on the leaves/cotyledons)

My setup -
Containers: 4 inch pots and some styrofoam cups

Meduim: Soil (Miracle grow Cactus & Succulents mix)

Lighting: A 4 foot-4 Tube fluorescent fixture. The lights are T5 fluorescents which burn pretty hot (can't touch them when they're on) and are pretty bright (5,000 lumens per tube x 4 tubes = 20k lumens). The lights hang approximately 6 inches above my seedlings.

Temperature: Soil temp = ~75 degrees
Air temp at pepper leaves = ~ 80 Degrees

Types of Peppers:
Aji Dulce
Limon Grande
Chocolate Habanero
Orange Habanero
Chilihaucle Amarillio
Aji Santa Cruz
Congo Trinidad
capsicum Pubescens (Almost dead)

Seed Source: Peppermania

Note: I started peppers in their current containers so there has been no transplanting or anything

If more info is needed, let me know. I want to be as clear as possible.

Any help is greatly appreciated:)

#0, you need to join a photo site such as Photobucket and upload your photos to there first, then you can put them on here.