• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Inexpensive Grow Setup?

Hey, I need a really Inexpensive grow setup (strapped for cash :( ). So far I've been growing my plants in a window facing south in a large closet. Growing has been way too slow! However, the plants are healthy, but I worry about the superhots that I will be germinating next week. I'm wondering if anyone knows an inexpensive setup for light fixtures and type of lights. I'm not sure what else would be needed. It's quite warm in there, especially during the day. But I wonder what people use to heat up their plants. It's my first year growing indoors. I used to just sow seeds when the weather was good, but I want much bigger plants this season.

Are you planing to water by hand and just use the light as a sun source? As opposed to an automated system.

Apart from the more expensive lights (HPS, MH) I've used high wattage CFL grow lights with less than terrible results.
example: http://www.growell.co.uk/sun-mate-grow-cfl-reflector.html
You don't need a ballast. Just plug and go.
I have a 130w (I think) one of these in my wardrobe (1x.5m approx) for starting seedlings.
You'd probably need some bottom heat in conjunction with lights like this to get good germination rates. eg. Heat mat, heated water.. both inexpensive.

how many seeds are you going to start ?

Are you planing to water by hand and just use the light as a sun source? As opposed to an automated system.

Apart from the more expensive lights (HPS, MH) I've used high wattage CFL grow lights with less than terrible results.
example: http://www.growell.c...-reflector.html
You don't need a ballast. Just plug and go.
I have a 130w (I think) one of these in my wardrobe (1x.5m approx) for starting seedlings.
You'd probably need some bottom heat in conjunction with lights like this to get good germination rates. eg. Heat mat, heated water.. both inexpensive.