Introduction to the Garden of Apologies

Hi there,

I've read this forum for a few years, but I'm just registering now. My name's Erik, and I've been growing hot peppers since 2014 in Ontario, Canada.
I started when I got married and moved to the suburbs, and figured backyard gardening would be a fun and productive hobby. Unfortunately, I had a family of raccoons destroy everything except a ghost pepper plant I was growing to try out, so I made a hot sauce with it, brought it to work and one of my Jamaican friends tried it and wanted more.
All 23 bottles of the first batch were gone in 2 days, and Sorry Sauce was born.
In 2017, we sold the house in Burlington and bought an old church in Lebanon, Ontario to have more growing space for our Garden of Apologies pepper farm. We added a small greenhouse in 2021, and our second greenhouse is going up in the spring of 2024.
I've grown a few hundred different types of peppers over the last decade, and I have a few hybrids I'm growing out for fun. My space is open pollinated and my focus is on pod production for hot sauce, so I don't sell seeds (but I do trade on occasion).
I've picked up some pretty good knowledge over the years, but I'm still learning from others all the time.

It's nice to be here.

Erik

Family Fam GIF by Paramount Network