• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Is it time to start feeding?

I'm fairly new to growing hot peppers. I attempted to start some seeds outdoors a few seasons ago, and had a run in with some grasshoppers. This season I started some reaper seeds in a jiffy tray then transferred them to solo cups with some seed starting mix once they sprouted. They've been hanging out in a sunny window for a few weeks and I'm wondering if I should start fertilizing these little guys yet. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

ruELJB9.jpg

RqKHCfO.jpg

so far that's really all I've have going is a sunny window. My intention is to eventually move them into containers and outdoors.

Freechips said:
I'm fairly new to growing hot peppers. I attempted to start some seeds outdoors a few seasons ago, and had a run in with some grasshoppers. This season I started some reaper seeds in a jiffy tray then transferred them to solo cups with some seed starting mix once they sprouted. They've been hanging out in a sunny window for a few weeks and I'm wondering if I should start fertilizing these little guys yet.
They look good man, I doubt they need fertilized yet. Check the soil you started them in and see if it has some nutrients already, they look unbelievably great if no nutes in the soil!

Also, clear containers supposedly cause root damage to the plant if exposed to sunlight. You may want to read a bit more into that theory.

PepperAaron said:
They look good man, I doubt they need fertilized yet. Check the soil you started them in and see if it has some nutrients already, they look unbelievably great if no nutes in the soil!

Also, clear containers supposedly cause root damage to the plant if exposed to sunlight. You may want to read a bit more into that theory.