• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Jimmy's 2012 Grow - 7/2/12 Update... The Hail Storm & more..

Well im kind of new around here, this isnt my first time growing hot peppers, but it is my first time growing them in containers.

I bought a dozen plants from cross country nursery, and they came in this past thursday.

I bought 2 Red savinas, 2 Mustard Habaneros, 2 Yellow Scotch Bonnets, and one Devils Tongue.

I also bought 2 Japanese Takanotsume's, 2 Kung pao Hybrids, and one Thai Red hot pepper ( not the small ornamental, these are larger)

I decided to go with the global buckets design to have these somewhat portable. I have lucked out and started my graphic design career finally after graduating a year ago, and will be hopefully moving closer ( less than 30 miles ) and will want to take these with me if possible. if not, no bigee. Another thing that appealed to me is that living in tornado alley is not fun this time of the year, and ive already spent too much into this project this year to see plants killed by bad weather.

I used what i could find locally and also afford in this build. using menards buckets as well as some 2 gallon containers from the grocery bakery ( for the thai and japanese peppers).

I have also picked up a 107L bag of Canadian Shagnum Peat moss, and 3 28L bags of Shultz Enriched Garden soil ( on sale so i couldn't resist ).

I used a 50/50 mixed of these two soils. The Shultz definitely had some manure in it, seemed like a pretty good black soil but by no means am I a connoisseur. I have been reading on this forum for the past several weeks and the extent people go into detail on the soils in this community is just way over my head. I had to try and pick something that I felt would work with what the community says is good and what the people who designed the global bucket say works with that system.