legal Level of processing vs legal issues/permits

Hi all.

Total newbie here. Have had fun in the past few years growing a variety of various peppers and concocting homemade sauces. Friends and family like my sauces (doesn't everybody say that? :) ) so this year I might step it up a notch volume wise. Planning on buying a large number of seeds to grow. That way even if my brown thumb strikes I should still have a good amount. With a little luck I will have LOTS of harvested peppers before it is all said and done.

So, I might end up with a large amount of some pretty hot peppers. Would be nice to sell the excess. Which brings me to my question. What levels of permiting and legal exposure come with the different points in the pepper production chain?

Do I really need any permiting or the like  to sell seeds on Ebay or Craig's List? Obviously you would want to at least check various states import laws regarding seeds or produce. And what about legal exposure? Sure anyone can sue you for anything, but barring gross negligence could you sucessfully be sued for selling seeds?

Then at the next level. Selling fresh pods on Ebay or Craig's List or the local farmer's market. Same questions as above.

What about simple processing (as oppossed to a sauce/salsa)? Like canning the peppers. Pickling? Or stuff like that? That would seem to me to as safe or safer than fresh peppers. But maybe the law doesnt see it that way. Same questions as above.

Does selling stuff that you label as requireing refrigeration (rather than claiming it to be shelf safe even though it probably is) help any?

Same questions for drying or making powder.

Just wondering what the middle ground is between selling fresh peppers and selling your own sauces as a full up business (with proper kitchens, co packers, permiting, insurance, and such).