• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

pests Little white bugs

What are the little white bugs that are all over the under side of my plants leaving like white powder residue? When I tap the plant they all scatter real quick and then hide again...are they harmful??

I'm no expert but can they be Spider Mites?

I'm gonna quote a site here...

Spider Mites can be a serious problem particularly during periods of hot, dry weather. They feed on the underside of leaves and to the naked eye, look like moving dots. When infestation is high, the leaves will have webs on them; if uncontrolled, these mites can kill a plant. Infected leaves often curl downwards and leaves are speckled in appearance, as though covered with hundreds or thousands of pale yellow dots. A simple technique for identifying mites is to tap an infected leaf over a piece of white paper. Wait a few seconds and watch for movement.

Bleash

I just saw a few the other day. I'm trying Organocide which I bought at a local nursery, but you can also get at Home Depot or Lowes. Trying it on the recommendation of a long time grower who used it with good results. It's organic and I'm trying to avoid use of the real nasty pesticides. It's also a fungicide and a miticide as well, so you get three for one. It's 92% fish oil, so it leaves a definite fishy smell which supposedly goes away in a few days. Also going to use the pump sprayer and get a little more aggressive on spraying the underside of leaves when watering. Good luck.

Hey Mike i have them too white flies. Sprayed with neem & Ivory this morning and again tonight in case i missed them this morning.

I just noticed some whitefly on my tomatoes again. They sure can be difficult little buggers, and disease spreaders :(

Yeah they fly around real quick and then back to hiding...whiteflies you say?? Another job for neem??