• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Major leaf curl

Howdy y'all.

So I recently germinated some seeds. It's made me realize all the things I've grown before I've grown from established plants. This is my first time from seed and it's a lot harder than I expected. I geminated 10 or so Habaneros and 10 or so Jalapenos. Planted the three best sprouts of each for six plants.

I'm down to one of each and losing the Habanero fast.

In the attached picture you can see it's falling over and the leaves are curried up quite a bit and I'm at a loss to the cause. A few days ago it was a strong looking sprout. So I dunno if when I watered it something happened or temps or what.

Looking around for leaf curl I see aphids and insects as a cause but that doesn't seem right here.

I keep my house at 65 which I know is on the cold side so I run a heater and LEDs for them. Heater runs 24/7, and lamp about 12 hours. You can see the spacing in the third pic, not trying to cook them, just keep them warm. Should I switch to a heating pad under the cups instead?

Attachments

• IMG_20200118_101904.jpg
    IMG_20200118_101904.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 96
  • IMG_20200118_101944.jpg
    IMG_20200118_101944.jpg
    137.5 KB · Views: 82
  • 15793754984856025756700793297070.jpg
    15793754984856025756700793297070.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 88
  • 15793755745157994752337694523094.jpg
    15793755745157994752337694523094.jpg
    93.3 KB · Views: 100
Sorry to hear about your losses.  To answer your question, yes.  You don't want the heater blowing hot air toward the plants at all.  A heat mat under them would be much better. You can even put the heat mat in a box approximately the height of the containers with a small/thin towel or rag between it and the containers and create a pocket area that retains the heat better than just an exposed mat under them.