• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Mixing different peppers for sauce

Hi so I'm about to harvest a lot of my peppers for hot sauce. I'm new to this. I have a lot of orange habaneros, a lot of jalapeños ( most red, little green) a lot of chiteplin, a lot of fatelii, a lot of charlston red hots, and a lot of red cayennes. I have only a few 7 yellow pots and a few douglah 7 pots, and a few ghost.

My question is pretty vauge I guess but I'll ask it.

When people add different pepper combos is it to change the flavor or add more heat? For example would you be able to taste the difference between a sauce with all orange habs vs a sauce with 80% habs and 20% jalapeños ( to make this example simple lets just say all other ingredients used will be equal in both sauces)?

In the beginning of this grow season I asked what combos might go well together and most people said you probably should keep each pepper in its own sauce not mixing. I don't want to waste my harvest on guessing so any advice from you seasoned hot sauce makers would be appreciated.

I have no problem making different recipe sauces unique to its own pepper but I was just curious why I see some sauces with 5 different types of super hots in it.

Look forward to hearing from anyone's thoughts on this.

Thanks

Hi Torch,

Congrats on a sucessful growing season!

Different chiles will "burn" differently. Alabama Jack has a post somewhere about a powder he's concocted that has the "perfect burn". It hits the tongue, the back-o-tha-throat, fast burn, slow burn.... Some folks mix chiles to mix up the burn. I think AJ has 4 or 5 different chiles in his blend.