• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds My first jolokia plant (seedling right now). Is it sick maybe?

Hi guys, first let me say hi and hello as this is my first post here. I've been looking for a pepper forum and I think this is the one I want to be on. Second, I'm trying to grow my first jolokia and let me say that I'm not very experienced with growing peppers. I've grown a few but they were really easy variety such as hot wax, jalapeno and I lucked out with one orange hab.

I've picked up a seedling from someone locally and they assure me that its a jolokia (and I do trust them that it is).
As its been growing from 2" tall to 3" tall I'm noticing the stem getting lighter at some parts - or maybe its the rest of the plant stem getting darker except for one area but it looks patchy. If anyone can look at these pics and tell me if it looks sick or if that can be normal.

Also the upper most leaves are starting to turn a little dark like as though I took a lead pencil and gently rubbed it. Is it getting burned slowly? I've got a 23W CF bulb about 6" above it. The plant is in a 9" wide pot with 70% miracle grow seedling mix and 30% scotts potting soil. I water it well once a week until it just drips from the bottom of the pot but then I put a towel to soak up the excess from the catch tray at the bottom so it doesnt remain soaked for too long. The room temp is about 22-23C.

Please help because I want to know if its doing well so far or if I should do something different. I'm in Toronto so its freaking cold outside. Maybe once we hit june when its 20C and higher outside, I will put it in a larger pot and leave it outside to get some real sun....

Thanks guys.

jolokia_seedling.jpg

jolokia_seedling_0.jpg

jolokia_seedling_2.jpg

jolokia_seedling_4.jpg